Letters. (June 2nd, 2011)

It’s been a while hasn’t it?

Sorry that I’ve been away for so long.  There has been so much going on and I am excited to share it with you.  Maybe not in this blog but one that’s going to be written soon.

What I actually want to talk about today is letters.  Not the alphabet type of speech but a written hand letter, and not just one…dozens.  I recently lead two tours that had significance.  1. full of special education students and 2.  40 fourth graders.  Let me tell you, these were perhaps the best tours I have ever led.  The first group, at the end of their tour as I said goodbye, I was applauded.  That was a very strange and new experience for me.  Then a couple weeks late, I led the fourth graders around campus.  I’m assuming the school system couldn’t afford O.M.S.I. so why not go to the second best choice…Mt. Hood Community College.

About a week after eac hof these tours I walk into my office cubical and notice some pieces of paper.  If you are trying to predict what happened next, you are probably predicting that there were letters waiting for me…Guess what, your right.  I pick up the pieces of paper and start to read.  These were the most beautiful letters I have ever read. 

There were so many different types of people that were influenced by this tour.  I did not intentially expect to create a fire of passion for these students but I did, and once this fire is lit, there is no going back.  I had so many different things said to me such as, “I can’t wait to go to college and I’m sad you wont be there”, “I’m so happy to get an education because of how cool the college was.” and my personal favorite “Sorry that the dog dies.” (in reference to the dog in which we named our mascot after who died several, several years ago).

The cool thing with all these letters is that even though I thought I was just leading a tour and I thought that I was just doing my job something happened.  I was given a beautiful opportunity to show the importance of education, to show the bennifits of education and something settled within each one of those students. 

Even though I will probably never see any of those students again, one thing is for sure.  I will never forget them and they will never forget me.

Letters are a powerful thing and it makes them even more special when they are written by hand and not typed.  Thanks very much for the reward that I have recieved by your letters. 

-Nathanael Sams

Leave a Reply

