Easter Eggs & Jesus

Isn’t it funny how Easter has become a holiday associated with eggs and chickens?  In case you have been completely overtaken by these fluffy yellow animals let me remind you what Easter actually means.  Easter is a celebration of Jesus.  Jesus died on Friday and rose on Sunday.  The reason for this was that we as humans would have the opportunity to fall in love with Jesus and learn from him and worship him as our savior.  In case you don’t know, I love Jesus.  I love everything about him and if I were to loose everything that I held close to (I’m being tested now due to the lack of my iPhone and computer) I would still love him.  There have been many people in my life that I have found out that I have influence through my faith of loving God and that makes me excited for what’s to come in the future.

So there you have it, Easter is about Jesus. 

There is however one more thing I would like to mention.

I grew up in a church, I loved the people, the message and the heart of what was going on.  Even though I loved all those things there were still times where I didn’t want to go to church or even be a part of a youth group or a service.  Honestly, sometimes I got really bored because sometimes it seems like the same thing.  The routine was typically going to church every Sunday morning, Sunday night and Wednesday night.  On top of that there were several volunteer events that you could participate in and then there was always the option of being on the worship team or the prayer team or whatever team you wanted to be on.   Doesn’t that structure seem odd?  Was it an obligation that I made for myself?  Does God really judge our relationship with him based on a building and whether or not we go to it weekly?  Can our passion for God be determined by this building?  If so, that’s a pretty big statement.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy going to church but it seems that there is this formula that I need to break free from.  I don’t want the opening songs to be exactly 25 minutes and the message to be exactly 39 minutes (long enough to set your “guilt” aside for not going for so long and short enough to see the kick off) because God is more than that.  God is full of this crazy love for us and we just put God in this box that we can control. 

It’s always funny to me how people who don’t go to church at all, typically go to church on Christmas and Today (Easter).  Today, I will be joining the the Easter crowd and I expect that no matter which church or how long the message is or the music, God will find me there if I am willing to meet him.  But you know what’s cool about that statement I just made…That doesn’t happen just in a building.  Did you read that?  It doesn’t just happen in a building, God wants us to come to him in any situation.  He is there for us in all sorts of different enviornments, lifestyles and yes, even other religions besides Christianity.  God is not limited to anything and yet we all limit God is some way.

If there is one thing that you take away from this blog, it is this.

Easter is about Jesus.

-Nathanael Sams

Leave a Reply

